Grassroots Support Grows


January 30, 2012

Contact: Mike Murray (847) 830-2141
[email protected]


The Independent Voters of Illinois, Independent Precinct Organizations (IVI-IPO) today endorsed Raja Krishnamoorthi’s candidacy for U.S. Congress.

IVI–IPO is a non-profit, multi-partisan, independent political organization that was established in 1944. IVI-IPO is a grassroots group dedicated to good government activism and an idealistic vision of open, honest government in Illinois. Its mission is to achieve social justice through good government by increasing voter participation and knowledge, by providing a framework for candidate evaluation, and by electing responsive government officials.

“I am honored to have the support of IVI-IPO,” said Raja Krishnamoorthi. “IVI-IPO is an exemplary model of how grassroots organizations promote good governance. Once elected, I will strive to make government more accountable and responsive to the needs of the middle class.”

IVI-IPO joins other grassroots organizations such as Americans for Democratic Action and Northside Democracy for America that have endorsed Raja’s candidacy.

In addition to IVI-IPO, the following local Democrats and organizations are supporting Raja’s bid for U.S. Congress:


  • Toni Preckwinkle, Cook County Board President
  • Danny Davis, U.S. Congressman
  • David Wilhelm, former Chairman of the Democratic National Committee
  • Newton Minow, former Chairman of the FCC
  • Illinois State Council of Machinists
  • Northwest Suburban Teachers Union, IFT Local 1211
  • International Brotherhood Of Electrical Workers, Local 134
  • Bricklayers and Allied Crafts Workers Administrative Council of IL District #1
  • Northside Democracy for America
  • Americans for Democratic Action
  • Fred Crespo, State Representative
  • Michelle Mussman, State Representative
  • Jack Franks, State Representative
  • Dave Koehler, State Senator
  • Billy Marovitz, former State Senator & Democratic State Central Committeeman
  • Paul Froehlich, Former State Representative
  • Will Burns, Ald. and Former State Representative
  • Tom Villanova, President, Chicago and Cook County Bldg. Trades Council
  • Chicago Regional Council of Carpenters
  • Marge Benton, former U.S. Ambassador to UNESCO
  • Former U.S. Deputy Attorney General John Schmidt
  • Bob Peickert, DuPage County Democratic Chairman
  • Mark Guethle, Kane County Democratic Chairman
  • Tim Bradford, Vice-Chairman of the Cook County Democratic Party
  • Rocco Terranova, Schaumburg Township Democratic Committeeman
  • David B. Reece, Dundee Township Democratic Party Chairman
  • Nancy Shepherdson, 8th CD Democratic State Central Committeewoman
  • Christine Cegelis, 6th CD Democratic State Central Committeewoman
  • Operative Plasterers’ and Cement Masons’ International Association (Plasterers’ Union) Local 5
  • Larry Rogers, Jr., Commissioner, Cook County Board of Review
  • Mike Alvarez, Commissioner, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District
  • Maryana Spyropoulos, Commissioner, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District
  • Frank Avila, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Commissioner
  • Larry Walsh, Will County Executive
  • Amy Rohrer, Executive Director, DuPage County Democrats
  • Cristina Castro, Kane County Board member
  • Melinda Bush, Lake County Board member
  • Pat Carey, Lake County Board member
  • Bill Powers, Barrington Township Democratic Committeeman
  • Trudy Zaja, Hanover Park Township Democratic Committeeman
  • Sue Walton, Palatine Township Democratic Committeeman
  • Sam Yingling, Avon Township Supervisor
  • Wendy Warden, First Vice-Chair of the 8th CD Democrats
  • Jack Sullivan, Schaumburg Village Trustee
  • George Longmeyer, Schaumburg Park District Commissioner
  • Barb Rendall Hochstadt, Roselle Village Trustee
  • Mark Feldstein, Avon Township Democratic Chair
  • Tish Powell, Elgin Councilwoman
  • Pete Null, Bloomingdale Township Democratic Chair
  • Tim Jackson, Ela Township Democratic Chair
  • Dave McArtin, Grant Township Democratic Chair
  • Ed Erwin, Lake Villa Township Democratic Chair
  • Gale Cohen DeMarco, Wauconda Township Democratic Chair
  • Ahmed Sayyed, Alderman Ward 3 Oakbrook Terrace
  • Pete Culver, Recording Secretary Elgin Trades Council (Bricklayer’s Union)
  • Steve De La Rosa, York Precinct 20 Committeeman
  • Gary Kleppe, Vice-Chairman of the York Township Democrats, York Precinct 87 Committeeman
  • Dave Karcher, York Precinct 112 Committeeman
  • Sean Niewoehner, York Precinct 103 Committeeman
  • Brenda Rodgers, Elgin Precinct 23 Committeeman
  • Linda Ramirez Sliwinski, Dundee Precinct 8 Committeewoman
  • Hidayat Yar Khan, Elgin Precinct 9 Committeeman
  • Jean Cattron, Elgin Precinct 13 Committeewoman
  • Diana Quesada, Elgin Precinct 25 Committeewoman
  • Harold Cattron, Elgin Precinct 30 Committeeman
  • Prezel Hardy, Elgin Precinct 32 Committeeman
  • William Becker, Elgin Precinct 34 Committeeman
  • Steve Corn, Elgin Precinct 36 Committeeman
  • Dennis Dilley, Elgin Precinct 54 Committeeman
  • Joan Lindgren, Elgin Precinct 56 Committeewoman
  • Jennifer Whalen, Elgin Precinct 3 Committeewoman
  • John Spinelli, Itasca Precinct 19 Committeeman
  • Christy Barry, Precinct Captain – Wayne 30
  • Adrian Hochstadt, Precinct Captain – Bloomingdale 36
  • David Wilcox, Recording Secretary, DuPage Young Democrats
  • Brian Lavaque, President, DuPage Young Democrats
  • Al Prochaska, former Vice-President of IL Federation of Teachers; Co-founder of Northwest Suburban Teachers Union
  • Mike McGue, president of Lake County Federation of Teachers (IFT Local 504)
  • Jennifer Schroder, U-46 School Board member
  • Bob Frankel, Schaumburg Township Library Board
  • Debby Miller, Schaumburg Township Library Board
  • Nick Scipione, Schaumburg Township Library Board Schaumburg Area Democrats
  • Asian-American Action Fund of Greater Chicago
  • Indo-American Democratic Organization
  • Sheet Metal Workers, Local #73
  • Painters District Council #30


Mike Murray

Deputy Campaign Manager
Raja for Congress